Mavericks to Host 2015 NCAA Wrestling Super Regional

The NCAA has announced that the 2015 Division II Wrestling Super Region 3 tournament has been awarded to Minnesota State and the city of Mankato.

Including the 2004 NCAA DII national championship tournament, the Mavericks have a long history in hosting wrestling championship events. MSU also hosted the NCAA DII North Central Regional in 2008, along with wrestling national championships held in Mankato in 1966 and 1968.

“We’re extremely proud and honored to have been selected to host this event,” said Kevin Buisman, MSU Director of Athletics. “We have a storied history with our wrestling program and are always excited, motivated and prepared for these types of opportunities to showcase our programs, Minnesota State and the amenities that we have here in Greater Mankato and the surrounding area.”

Bidding for 82 of 89 NCAA championships began in July and 1,984 bid applications were ultimately submitted. Each sport committee, per division, selected the host sites it believed would provide the ultimate experience for the respective student-athletes, resulting in 523 total championship event sites awarded.

For more information on all of the NCAA championship sites awarded, log on to