ACT Brumbies Name Team for Round 1 Against Waratahs

The Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies have named their matchday squad for Friday night’s Harvey Norman Super Rugby Pacific opener against the NSW Waratahs at Allianz Stadium in Sydney at 7:35pm live and exclusively on Stan Sport.   Shute Shield product Blake Schoupp earns a start for what will be his Brumbies and Super Rugby debut, the loosehead prop and hooker Connal McInerney both in head coach Stephen Larkham’s first starting selection having re-signed with the club through to 2024.   Experienced flyhalf Jack Debreczeni, former Blues centre Tamati Tua and Brumbies pathways flyer Corey Toole are the other debutants in the run-on side, with tighthead prop Rhys Van Nek also on-debut in the finishers.   Nic White will finish the game at halfback in what will be his 100th appearance for the club, with Allan Alaalatoa leading the side from tighthead prop.   Test-lock duo Nick Frost and Cadeyrn Neville combine in the second row for just the second time in ACT colours, with Rob Valetini, Rory Scott and Pete Samu forming a familiar looking backrow.   Scrumhalf Ryan Lonergan will combine with Debreczeni in the halves, with Tua wearing 12 inside Len Ikitau in the centres.   Tom Wright will start at fullback with Toole and Andy Muirhead completing the back-three.   Lachlan Lonergan will bring plenty of impact from the bench, with veteran James Slipper likely to play and important role as the finishing loosehead.   Darcy Swain is the lock replacement with Luke Reimer bringing energy as backrow cover.   White and flyhalf Noah Lolesio are potential game-winners as the replacement halves pairing with Ollie Sapsford rounding out the ACT Brumbies first selection for 2023.   Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies head coach, Stephen Larkham said: “The energy is building for this game, and we’re excited to see a number of new faces earn their first selection in a Brumbies jersey.”  “It’s a big occasion for the Waratahs and they’ve certainly talked pretty openly about their aspirations, but we know where we want to go as a team, and we’ll be ready to go at 7:35pm Friday night.”   SAFEGUARD GLOBAL ACT BRUMBIES ROUND ONE TEAM  1. Blake Schoupp, Gungahlin Eagles *  2. Connal McInerney, Canberra Royals  3. Allan Alaalatoa (c), Uni-Norths Owls  4. Nick Frost, Queanbeyan Whites  5. Cadeyrn Neville, Uni-Norths Owls  6. Rob Valetini, Western District Lions  7. Rory Scott, Canberra Royals  8. Pete Samu, Gungahlin Eagles  9. Ryan Lonergan, Tuggeranong Vikings  10. Jack Debreczeni, Uni-Norths Owls*  11. Corey Toole, Gungahlin Eagles*  12. Tamati Tua, Queanbeyan Whites  13. Len Ikitau, Tuggeranong Vikings  14. Andy Muirhead, Canberra Royals  15. Tom Wright, Western District Lions  REPLACEMENTS  16. Lachlan Lonergan, Tuggeranong Vikings  17. James Slipper, Queanbeyan Whites  18. Rhys Van Nek, Uni-Norths Owls*  19. Darcy Swain, Tuggeranong Vikings  20. Luke Reimer, Western District Lions  21. Nic White, Queanbeyan Whites **  22. Noah Lolesio, Tuggeranong Vikings  23. Ollie Sapsford, Uni-Norths Owls  *Denotes potential ACT Brumbies debut ** Denotes potential 100th game for ACT Brumbies Click Here: Manchester United soccer tracksuit