Mannion hits 1-6 as Kilmacud claim first Dublin senior football title since 2010

Kilmacud Crokes 2-12
St Judes 0-13

Fintan O’Toole reports from Parnell Park

PAUL MANNION STAMPED his class all over the Dublin senior football decider on a night when his Kilmacud Crokes team ended their club’s eight-year wait for senior football glory and condemned St Jude’s to more disappointment.

Paul Mannion starred for Kilmacud Crokes tonight.

Source: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

Five points was the separating margin under the Parnell Park floodlights but it was not until Mannion netted in the 57th minute, that the contest was truly settled.

St Jude’s had thundered back into contention in the second half and cut the margin to two points, 1-11 to 0-12, when the winners notched their second goal of the game. Midfielder Craig Dias punted in a delivery which Mannion gathered before gliding past his marker and deftly finishing to the net.

There was still time for a point apiece from either side but that strike from Mannion was the decisive one, bringing his tally for the night to 1-6.

Kilmacud Crokes are Dublin Senior Football Champions 2018! 🏆🏐

Cian O'Sullivan & Craig Dias lift the cup! @KCrokesGAAClub

— The GAA (@officialgaa) October 29, 2018

The other game defining moment arrived in the 41st minute. This time wing-back Cian O’Connor was the creator and it was the experienced campaigner Pat Burke that smashed home a fierce shot for the opening goal of a game where Kilmacud had been in front by 0-7 to 0-3 at the interval.

It was fitting that Mannion despatched the second goal as he was on song all night. 1-6 from play included some breathtaking points in the opening half, some scores to relieve the pressure in the second half and then that goal to wrap up matters at the finish.

It was a night that brought dejection again for St Jude’s as they went in search of their maiden county crown. They started slowly, taking 18 minutes to get off the mark on the scoreboard and were four in arrears at the break.

They exploded into life in the second half though, Kevin McManamon swinging over a lovely point 16 seconds after the resumption. Mannion responded but then St Judes notched three on the bounce courtesy of Padraic Clarke, Tom Lahiff and Chris Guckian to cut the deficit to the minimum by the 38th minute.

Kilmacud Crokes players celebrate their Dublin senior title victory.

Source: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

Just as St Jude’s started to think about drawing level, Kilmacud pounced with another Mannion point and that Burke goal. Five points was a sizeable margin and St Jude’s would spend the remainder of the game trying to eat into it.

They pounded hard against Kilmacud, another trio of points supplied by McManamon, Niall Coakley and Tom Devlin leaving just two in it with 11 minutes left on the clock.

Kilmacud were always able to protect that position as the teams traded points, didn’t allow Jude’s sight of David Nestor’s goal and were clinical when that goal chance arose for Mannion.

Callum Pearson almost added a third goal in injury-time but his stinging drive was swatted away by the palm of Liam Mailey. It didn’t matter though, Kilmacud’s place as Dublin kingpins was assured and a Leinster quarter-final awaits against Dunboyne.

A dejected Mark Sweeney at the final whistle tonight in Parnell Park.

Source: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

Scorers for Kilmacud Crokes: Paul Mannion 1-6, Pat Burke 1-0, Cian O’Connor (0-1 ’45), Craig Dias 0-2 each, Shane Cunningham, Callum Pearson 0-1 each.

Scorers for St Jude’s: Niall Coakley 0-4 (0-4f), Padraic Clarke 0-3 (0-1f), Kevin McManamon 0-2, Tom Lahiff, Chris Guckian, Seamus Ryan, Tom Devlin 0-1 each. 

Kilmacud Crokes

1. David Nestor

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

2. Liam Flatman
3. Andrew McGowan
4. Cian O’Sullivan

7. Cillian O’Shea
6. Ross McGowan
5. Cian O’Connor

8. Craig Dias
9. Conor Casey

12. Shane Horan
10. Shane Cunningham
15. Callum Pearson

11. Paul Mannion
14. Dara Mullin
13. Pat Burke


28. Kevin Dyas for Horan (50)
27. Tom Fox for Mullin (57)
26. Stephen Williams for Burke (60)

St Jude’s

1. Liam Mailey

2. Oisín Manning
3. Ciarán Fitzpatrick
4. Cillian O’Reilly

5. Tom Lahiff
6. Niall O’Shea
7. Chris Guckian

8. Mark Sweeney
9. Séamus Ryan

12. Kieran Doherty
17. Simon King
19. Ronan Joyce

13. Niall Coakley
14. Kevin McManamon
15. Padraic Clarke


24. Neal Mangan for Clarke (37)
10. Tom Devlin for King (45)
23. Brendan McManamon for Doherty (50)
18. Andy Sweeney for O’Reilly (60)

Referee: Seán McCarthy (St Vincent’s)

Subscribe to our new podcast, Heineken Rugby Weekly on The42, here:

Click Here: Crusaders rugby store