Higgins and Boyle handed first starts of season for Mayo as 4 Corofin players in Galway side

Updated Jan 12th 2019, 1:56 PM

JAMES HORAN HAS decided to continue with his youthful approach for Mayo’s FBD League campaign as they prepare to take on Galway this Sunday [throw-in 1.30pm].

Mayo needed penalties to overcome Leitrim in their FBD League opener and head into the semi-final against the reigning Connacht champions with an experimental look – naming seven changes to last week’s team.

James McCormack, Fionn McDonagh, Fergal Boland and Brian Reape are all retained from last Sunday’s game, while Keith Higgins and Colm Boyle make their first starts of the season when the side travel to Tuam.

Michael Plunkett and Conor Diskin are also named in the starting line-up for the first time this year.

Kevin Walsh has unveiled his Galway starting side for their first game of the 2019 campaign. Four players from All-Ireland club semi-finalists Corofin are included with Liam Silke, Kieran Molloy, Dylan Wall and Michael Farragher all starting.

Cillian McDaid, who is available again after returning from a spell with AFL side Carlton, is also selected.

Evan Regan scores the winning penalty for Mayo past Leitrim goalkeeper, Diarmuid McKiernan.

Source: James Crombie/INPHO


1. Rob Hennelly (Breaffy)

Click Here: Spain football tracksuit

2. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)
3. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
4. David Drake (Ballaghaderreen)

5. Colm Boyle (Davitts – captain)
6. Michael Plunkett (Ballintubber)
7. James McCormack (Claremorris)

8. Donal Vaughan (Castlebar Mitchels)
9. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber)

10. Fionn McDonagh (Westport)
11. Conor Loftus (Crossmolina Deel Rovers)
12. Fergal Boland (Aghamore)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

13. Connor Diskin (Claremorris)
14. Brian Reape (Bohola Moy Davitts)
15. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)


1. Manus Breathnach (An Spidéal)

2. Declan Kyne (Clonbur)
3. Sean Andy Ó Ceallaigh
4. Liam Silke (Corofin)

5. Kieran Molloy (Corofin)
6. John Daly (Mountbellew-Moylough)
7. Dylan Wall (Corofin)

8. Kieran Duggan (Annaghdown)
9. Tomas Flynn (Athenry)

10. Cillian McDaid (Monivea-Abbey)
11. Michael Farragher (Corofin)
12. Johnny Heaney (Killanin)

13. Frankie Burke (Annaghdown)
14. Michael Boyle (Killererin)
15. Barry McHugh (Mountbellew-Moylough)

Ahead of a huge weekend of Heineken Champions Cup action, Murray Kinsella, Andy Dunne and Gavan Casey assess the provinces’ chances of putting a foot in the last eight:

Source: Heineken Rugby Weekly on The42/SoundCloud

Subscribe to our new podcast, Heineken Rugby Weekly on The42, here: