Castleknock ace named in attack as Limerick look to start season on a high against Cork

LIMERICK BOSS BILLY Lee has named his starting team to face Cork in Sunday’s McGrath Cup semi-final.

It’s the first game of the season for both sides, with Waterford and Clare facing off in the other last four clash. 

The Treaty manager starts with one debutant – full-forward Adam Kearns – for the 2pm meeting in Rathkeale. 

Returning to the team is goalkeeper Donal O’Sullivan, with the Monaleen netminder back in the county set-up after a spell abroad. Seamus O’Carroll, who plays his club football with Castleknock in Dublin, leads the attack. 

Limerick’s Iain Corbett during the 2017 McGrath Cup final.

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Iain Corbett missed last year’s league as he was away with the Irish army, but he takes his place at midfield alongside Darragh Treacy.

Cork announced their side earlier this week.


1. Donal O’Sullivan (Monaleen) 

2. Michael Donovan (Galbally) 
3. Sean O’Dea (Kilteely/Dromkeen) 
4. Paul Maher (Adare) 

5. Brian Fanning (Pallasgreen) 
6. Tony McCarthy (Kildimo/Pallaskenry) 
7. Gordon Brown (Na Piarsaigh) 

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

8. Darragh Treacy (St Kierans) 
9. Iain Corbett (Newcastlewest) 

10. Jim Liston (Gerald Griffins) 
11. Sean McSweeney (St Kierans) 
12. Mike Fitzgibbon (Feohanagh/Castlemahon) 

13. Peter Nash (Kildimo/Pallaskenry) 
14. Adam Kearns (St Senans) 
15. Seamus O’Carroll (Castleknock)


16. John Chawke (Kildimo/Pallaskenry) 
17. Oran Collins (Adare) 
18. Gareth Noonan (Dromcollogher/Broadford) 
19. Colm McSweeney (Gerald Griffins) 
20. Luke Murphy (Monaleen) 
21. Denis Greaney (Athea) 
22. Tommy Griffin (Gerald Griffins) 
23. Padraig De Brun (Firies) 
24. Kieran Daly (Na Piarsaigh) 
25. Davy Lyons (Adare) 
26. Jamie Lee (Newcastlewest)

Subscribe to our new podcast, Heineken Rugby Weekly on The42, here:

Click Here: brisbane broncos shirt