And the 2018 August All-Star football awards go to…

FOUR TEAMS ARE left in the race for All-Ireland football glory.

Click Here: Red Bull Racing Suit

Beggan, Donnelly, Fenton, Walsh and Clifford have been some of the star performers in this year’s championship.

Source: INPHO

Provincial champions Dublin and Galway, along with Ulster duo Tyrone and Monaghan – who have both travelled the backdoor route – are all still in with a chance of claiming the Sam Maguire next month.

And with only three games – barring replays – left in the 2018 football championship, it’s those four sides that provide the players at the core of the sides we’ve selected in our All-Star football teams from the summer so far.

There’s consensus below in choosing 12 players – Rory Beggan, Eoghan Kerin, Johnny Cooper, Frank Burns, Karl O’Connell, Brian Fenton, Mattie Donnelly, Shane Walsh, Ciaran Kilkenny, David Clifford, Damien Comer and Conor McManus.

Galway defender Eoghan Kerin.

Source: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

Kerry’s Clifford is the notable exception, the only player outside of the All-Ireland semi-finalists to make the cut. The remaining matches are likely to have a major say in deciding the individual honours.

Here’s what we’ve come up with:

Kevin O’Brien

1. Rory Beggan (Monaghan)

2. Eoghan Kerin (Galway)
3. Frank Burns (Tyrone)
4. Jonny Cooper (Dublin)

Dublin defender Jonny Cooper.

Source: Bryan Keane/INPHO

5. Brian Howard (Dublin)
6. James McCarthy (Dublin)
7. Karl O’Connell (Monaghan)

8. Brian Fenton (Dublin)
9. Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone)

10. Shane Walsh (Galway)
11. Niall Sludden (Tyrone)
12. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)

13. David Clifford (Kerry)
14. Damien Comer (Galway)
15. Conor McManus (Monaghan)

Fintan O’Toole

1. Rory Beggan (Monaghan)

2. Jonny Cooper (Dublin)
3. Drew Wylie (Monaghan)
4. Eoghan Kerin (Galway)

5. Karl O’Connell (Monaghan)
6. Frank Burns (Tyrone)
7. Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

8. Brian Fenton (Dublin)
9. Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone)

10. Shane Walsh (Galway)
11. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)
12. Brian Howard (Dublin)

13. David Clifford (Kerry)
14. Damien Comer (Galway)
15. Conor McManus (Monaghan)

Monaghan attacker Conor McManus.

Source: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

Sinead Farrell

1. Rory Beggan (Monaghan)

2. Jonny Cooper (Dublin)
3. Drew Wylie (Monaghan)
4. Eoghan Kerin (Galway)

5. James McCarthy (Dublin)
6. Frank Burns (Tyrone)
7. Karl O’Connell (Monaghan)

Tyrone footballer Frank Burns.

Source: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

8. Brian Fenton (Dublin)
9. Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone)

10. Ian Burke (Galway)
11. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)
12. Shane Walsh (Galway)

13. Damien Comer (Galway)
14. Conor McManus (Monaghan)
15. David Clifford (Kerry)


Don’t agree with the teams? Of course you don’t! Head straight to the comments section to tell us why we’re wrong.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!