TEAM NEWS: Lucas promoted to fullback, Hegarty at 10 to face NSW

Isaac Lucas has earned his first start for the Reds, named at fullback to take on the Waratahs at the SCG.

Bryce Hegarty has shifted to flyhalf, after playing plenty of time at first receiver in recent weeks, with Hamish Stewart on the pine.

Scott Higginbotham is also set to start for the first time in 2019, with Angus Scott-Young and Caleb Timu on the bench.

JP Smith is back in the starting side as well, with Feao Fotuaiki out of the 23 and youngster Harry Hoopert earning an opportunity on the bench.

Easts back Jack Hardy will make his debut coming off the bench.

Reds coach Brad Thorn said there was certainly an extra sense of emotion going into the game.

“No matter what code or sport, Queensland v New South Wales are always good games. It’s a historic rivalry and I know our men will wear the maroon jersey with pride,” he said in a release.

Click Here: Cheap Chiefs Rugby Jersey 2019

“Bryce is a great communicator within the group. He has showed good composure, confidence and direction when he’s slotted into that 10 position the last two games. Hamish moves to the bench. He continues to work hard and provides us with options in the backline.

“Congratulations to Isaac. It’s a big achievement to run out for Queensland for the first time. In our two matches against the Highlanders and Crusaders, he’s come on and hasn’t looked out of place. We’re excited to see what he can do with more game time this weekend.

“Duncan did his job last week when he came on for Jordy. It’s good having someone like him we can bring into our backline to partner Samu in the centres.”

The Reds take on the Waratahs at the SCG on Saturday night, kicking off at 7:45pm AEDT, LIVE on FOX SPORTS and via RADIO. Buy tickets here.


IN: Harry Hoopert, Jack Hardy

OUT: Feao Fotuaika, Jordan Petaia

Reds to face NSW

1. JP Smith – GPS

2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa – Sunnybank

3. Taniela Tupou – Brothers

4. Izack Rodda (vc) – Easts

5. Harry Hockings – University of Queensland

6. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto – Souths

7. Liam Wright – Easts

8. Scott Higginbotham – Wests

9. Moses Sorovi – Wests

10. Bryce Hegarty – GPS

11. Sefa Naivalu – TBC

12. Duncan Paia’aua – Norths

13. Samu Kerevi (c) – Souths

14. Chris Feauai-Sautia – Souths

15. Isaac Lucas – Sunnybank*


16. Alex Mafi – Bond University

17. Harry Hoopert – Brothers

18. Ruan Smith – GPS

19. Caleb Timu – Souths

20. Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland

21. Tate McDermott – University of Queensland

22. Hamish Stewart – Bond University

23. Jack Hardy – Easts**