CFDA Fashion Awards

This week the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) paid tribute to the winners and honorees of the 2008 CFDA Fashion Awards in New York. Top honours went to Francisco Costa for Calvin Klein for Womenswear Designer of the Year. Tom Ford won Menswear Designer of the Year and Tory Burch took home Accessory Designer of the Year.

The Swarovski Award for Womenswear was given to Kate & Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte while the Swarovski Award for Menswear was presented to Scott Sternberg for Band of Outsiders. The Swarovski Award for Accessory Design went to Phillip Crangi. The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Carolina Herrera.

Belgian designer Dries Van Noten was recognized with this year’s International Award;’s Candy Pratts Price was honored with the Eugenia Sheppard Award for excellence in journalism; and the Board of Directors’ Special Tribute was presented to Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg for his unwavering support of New York City’s fashion industry.

n its effort to recognize the outstanding contributions made to American fashion by individuals from all areas of the industry and related arts, the CFDA hosts the annual CFDA Fashion Awards. Every year, nominations for each award category are submitted by the CFDA membership and select fashion retailers, press, and stylists, and ratified by the CFDA Board of Directors. Awards nominees are voted on and announced at the CFDA Fashion Awards gala event.

The CFDA is a not-for-profit trade association of over 300 of America’s foremost fashion and accessory designers. Founded in 1962, the CFDA continues to advance the status of fashion design as a branch of American art and culture; to raise its artistic and professional standards; to define a code of ethical practices of mutual benefit in public and trade relations; and, to promote appreciation of the fashion arts through leadership in quality and aesthetic discernment.

Click Here: Malaysia Rugby Shop